Secondary Sources - most often interpretations or analyses of primary source information. Mostly in the form of books, journal articles, and reference materials.
The disctinction between primary and secondary sources is not solely based on book vs. article format. A book of interviews would be a primary source about that person; a book of scholarly criticism of that person's work would be a secondary source.
Building a New Community Psychology of Mental Health
by
This book provides a much-needed account of informal community-based approaches to working with mental distress. It starts from the premise that contemporary mainstream psychiatry and psychology struggle to capture how distress results from complex embodied arrays of social experiences that are embedded within specific historical, cultural, political and economic settings. The authors challenge mainstream understandings of mental health that position a naive public in need of mental health literacy. Instead it is clear that a considerable amount of invaluable mental distress work is undertaken in spaces in our communities that are not understood as mental health treatments. This book represents one of the first attempts to position these kinds of spaces at the center of how we understand and address problems of mental distress and suffering. The chapters draw on case studies from the UK and abroad to point toward an exciting new paradigm based on informal community and socially oriented approaches to mental health. Written in an unusually accessible and engaging style, this book will appeal to social science students, academics, practitioners and policy makers interested in community and social approaches to mental health.
Diverse Careers in Community Psychology
by
Community psychology is a diverse field. Community psychologists may work for the government, for nonprofit foundations, as researchers or teachers in academic settings, at NGOs, as independent consultants, overseas in international development, and more. Despite such professional diversity,very little information has formally been made available to students and practitioners about the range of careers they can pursue when studying community psychology. Diverse Careers in Community Psychology details a range of potential career paths for someone with community psychology or related social science training, describes the different types of careers (e.g., tasks involved, benefits and challenges, salary range, etc.), and outlines steps one can take todevelop such a career. The volume is built on three foundations: (1) a career survey of almost 450 respondents, which provides quantitative information about the different types of settings in which individuals with community psychology training might find themselves; (2) more than twenty chaptersby contributors who share their personal stories and guidance on how to select, prepare for, find, and succeed in careers similar to theirs; (3) and interviews with community psychologists, further illustrating examples discussed in the authored chapters. This volume provides both a depth andbreadth of information about the possible careers available for someone with community psychology or related training.
Heredity, Family, and Inequality
by
Empirical literature in disciplines ranging from behavioral genetics to economics shows that in virtually every aspect of life the outcomes of children are correlated to a greater or lesser extent with the outcomes of their parents and their siblings. In Heredity, Family, and Inequality, the economist Michael Beenstock offers theoretical, statistical, and methodological tools for understanding these correlations. Beenstock presents a comprehensive survey of intergenerational and sibling correlations for a broad range of outcomes -- including fertility and longevity, intelligence and education, income and consumption, and deviancy and religiosity. He then offers a critique of the sometimes conflicting explanations for these correlations proposed by social scientists from such disciplines as developmental psychology, sociology, and economics. Beenstock also provides an axiomatic framework for thinking about the complex interplay of heredity, family, and environments, drawing on game theory, control theory, and econometrics. Chapters 1-7 discuss such topics as the important contributions of Francis Galton (1822--1911) to the statistical study of heredity, the family as an engine of inequality and diversity, and natural experiments designed to identify how environments, families, peer groups, and neighborhoods affect human outcomes. Chapters 8-10 present technical material on statistical, theoretical, and methodological tools used by the earlier chapters. Beenstock's goal is not to argue for either nature or nurture but to suggest more rigorous ways to assess the diverse contributions to this lively debate.
Tertiary Sources -often consist of information which is a distillation and collection of primary and secondary sources. Examples of tertiary sources include but are not limited to almanacs, bibliographies, chronologies, directories, and fact books. In other words....
~ Mary Woodley, CSUN Oviatt Library
Here are some examples of Tertiary Sources in Merrill Library
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences, 16 Volume Set
by
Oxford Research Encyclopedia - Education
