PSY 322-0002 Physiological Psychology - UMM Web/Online: RefWorks & Annotated Bibliographies

You can use to keep track of your citations and create an annotated bibliography once you set up an account.

There are two approaches to create an annotated bibliography using RefWorks:

1. Generate a bibliography in the appropriate from the resources in your RefWorks folders and save as a word document. Next open the word document and enter your annotations below each source.
2. Add your annotations directly into RefWorks if you choose an Annotated with Abstracts style. Once you generate a bibliography from your Refworks folder your annotations will be included. You can then export the annotated bibliography into Word. 

An annotated bibliography assignment asks that you find materials on a topic, review them enough to write about them, and cite them properly in an appropriate style (MLA, Chicago, etc.).

See the websites below for tips on how to read critically and how to write an annotated bibliography.

The use of APA or MLA format depends on the discipline.  Many instructors at UMM (but not all) require the American Psychological Association (or APA) style format.  The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the best resource for answering questions about how to cite a source if using APA. Another very good source is  Purdue Online Writing Lab, or OWL at Purdue.

Many instructors at UMM (but not all) require Modern Library Association (or MLA) style format. The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers is the best resource for answering questions about how to cite a source if using MLA.