Educational Resources
Welcome to the educational resources page! The Archives has an abundance of educational resources for teachers, students and visitors who would like to learn more about Acadian history, culture, and language as well as the St. John Valley region. On this page, you'll find information about our educational kits but be sure to explore the lesson plans and children's books we have to offer visitors.
Our educational kits are resources geared towards educators to provide them with materials and information to teach on a specific topic. They can be checked out like library materials and include a lesson plan and the necessary supplies/books. There are a total of 5 kits:
- Amuse-toi bien trousse/Have fun kit (x2)
- Evangeline kit
- L'Acadie et la Vallee St-Jean kit(x3, 1st kit commonly referred to as the treasure trunk)
- St. Croix 1604 Interpretive kit (x2)
- Teaching tools: Maine Prehistoric Archaeology Teacher Resource kit
Amuse-toi bien!
-
Amuse-tio bien! Inventory
Amuse-toi bien! is a fun way to encourage cognitive and language development in the 3 to 5 year old child. Parents wishing to learn French are also given the opportunity to learn or practice basic vocabulary with language structures that are pertinent to a preschool child. All the games strengthen pre-reading and pre-writing abilities while developing vocabulary
L'Acadie et la Vallee St. Jean kit
-
L'Acadie et la Vallee St. Jean Inventory
This kit is a production of the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes in collaboration with the Maine Acadian Heritage Council and the University of Maine at Fort Kent Foundation grants. Three versions the kit exist, with the main original kit being a treasure chest which is housed in the reference area of the Acadian Archives. These kits contain a variety of books, audiovisual materials, lesson plans, and maps on Acadian history and the St. John Valley region.
St. Croix 1604 Interpretive trunks
-
St. Croix 1604 interpretive trunk Inventory
St. Croix Island (off the coast of Calais, ME) was one of the earliest successful settlements in the region known as Acadia.
This interpretive trunk contains a variety of materials for all learning styles and a detailed teacher’s guide to lead teachers and students through
their own exploration of the St. Croix colony and its people. While particularly applicable to social studies, the trunk is also fully appropriate to French language studies, Native American studies, arts and crafts, and other subjects. All trunk materials and the teacher’s guide in French and English.
Teaching tools: Maine Prehistoric Archaeology Teacher Resource kit
-
Teaching tools Maine prehistoric archaeology teacher resource kit
With this kit, high quality casts of prehistoric artifacts are accessible to students and contains twenty-seven (27) casts of distinctive prehistoric stone, bone, and ceramic artifacts recovered from Maine archaeological sites. This kit also includes examples of perishable items, such as birch bark and basketry splints to illustrate the many kinds of materials that prehistoric people in Maine likely used in their daily lives.
To make identification simpler, a catalog providing a description of each item is included.
Evangeline Edu Kit
-
Evangeline Edu-kit inventory
Created as part of a 150th anniversary project in 1997 this contains multi-media materials that explore, reconsider, and celebrate Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s poem Evangeline, which was a fictional retelling of the Great Expulsion of 1755.