Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes at UMFK: Other Institutions

The Acadian Archives documents, preserves, celebrates, and disseminates information about the Upper St. John Valley, a 70-mile stretch of the St. John River running between the U.S. and Canada. In pursuing this mandate of cultural conservation, the Archives focuses particular attention on the Acadian & Franco-American history & culture.

The University of Maine Office of Franco-American Affairs was founded in 1972 by Franco-American students and community volunteers. It subsequently became the Franco-American Centre. From the onset, its purpose has been to introduce and integrate the Maine, regional, and United States Franco-American Fact in post-secondary academe and in particular the University of Maine.

The University of Southern Maine’s Franco-American collection is one of the largest repositories of Franco-American archival material in the State of Maine. The Collection’s holdings cover local history, government, religion, language, education, industry, sports and the arts.

The Collection focuses on Lewiston-Auburn and other areas of Maine, with additional regional materials providing a link to the wider contexts of French North America.

A performing arts organization that celebrates our Franco-American Heritage; a legacy handed to us by generations of our brave ancestors who relocated here from France, Quebec, and all across the globe. We present the best in symphonic music, solo instrumentalists, chorales and choirs, and contemporary music. We have a wildly successful theme night series, as well as more informal nightclub performances.

Founded in the year 2000, the FAHC is a 501©3 non profit organization governed by a 15 member volunteer Board of Directors. Twenty five percent (25%) of all programming is of a French nature in order to preserve and keep the rich culture, traditions, music, cuisine, language and heritage alive and to celebrate the “Joie de Vivre” spirit of the Franco-Americans.

The French Institute fosters study of the French in North America from the 16th century to today. It is the leading place to find material relating to the many French Canadians who immigrated to New England in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Created in 1979 to honor the French heritage of Assumption College, now University, and our region, the French Institute is an academic research center devoted to collecting, arranging, preserving, and making accessible published works, archival documents, and artifacts pertaining to the French in North America. All aspects of the French presence are of interest: historical, linguistic, literary, religious, political, etc.

An active community of researchers ranging from undergraduates to professional scholars uses the French Institute collection. Scholarship emerging from the Institute has relevance both for specialists and a broader public concerned with issues of diversity, ethnicity, and assimilation.