Mission Statement
Blake Library Special Collections collects and provides access to historically significant materials pertaining to the university and its history, Aroostook County, the Dickey-Lincoln School project, and Maine history as it pertains to Aroostook County and its communities.
As a repository for both published materials and manuscript collections relating directly to the department's mission statement, Special Collections serves the University of Maine at Fort Kent community of faculty, administration, students and alumni, the University of Maine System, and the greater community, including scholars and researchers.
Access Policy
Blake Library Special Collections is open to the public but is only accessible through contact with library staff. All Special Collections materials are non-circulating; faculty desiring materials for classroom use should contact a Special Collections staff member.
Blake Library Special Collections Policies
Donations to Special Collections
Gifts to Special Collections are always welcome but will only be added to Special Collections if they support the department's mission statement. The library staff reserves the right to determine if donated materials fit the Special Collections mission statement. If not, the materials may be added to the main library collection, the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes, returned to the donor (if requested), or discarded at the discretion of the library staff. The Library staff will also consider the condition of the materials and determine if the library has the capacity to preserve and maintain them.
